Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Must Be Weighted

MLB has announced the finalists for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award:

Derek Jeter
Justin Morneau
Michael Young
Carlos Delgado
Albert Pujols
Barry Zito

The award goes to "a player who combines outstanding achievement on the field and extraordinary accomplishment off the field." I have no reason to quarrel with the off-the-field works of any of these gentlemen, as I have heard that they are all fine, generous human beings.

To the extent equal weight is given to the on-the-field portion, well, let's just say that based on 2008, Jeter, Young, and Zito probably shouldn't waste a lot of effort clearing space in their trophy cases just yet.


Jason @ IIATMS said...

Have you seen Jeter's date-roster? That's an extraordinary off-the-field accomplishment.

JRJ said...

So MLB has a Marvin Miller award, but still no spot in the HOF for him?